The Compassionate Communities Network began after the 1st International Public Health Palliative Care Conference in Kerala, India in 2009. A number of like-minded people came together in Cairns in 2013 and began collaborating to develop a network.

Our founding members include:

Dr Bruce Rumbold (La Trobe University School of Public Health, VIC)
Deborah Morris (La Trobe University School of Public Health, VIC)
Dr John Rosenberg (ACU & Clare Holland House, ACT)
Kerrie Noonan (The GroundSwell Project, NSW)
Shyla Mills (Glass Half Full Projects & South East Palliative Care, VIC)
Odette Waanders (Palliative Care Victoria, VIC)
Barbara Young (Hume Region Palliative Care, VIC)
Jason Mills (Glass Half Full Projects & Eastern Health, VIC)
Caroline Short (Cessnock/Kurri Kurri and Singleton Palliative Care, NSW)
Molly Carlile (Death Talker, VIC)
Mary Tehan (Ultimacy, VIC)
Sue Salau (VIC)
Will Hallahan (Palliative Care Western Australia, WA)
Kate Stuart (Hunter New England Health, NSW)
Rachel Coghlan (VIC)
Fiona Gardner (La Trobe University, School of Social Work, VIC)
Helen Corbett (North & West Metropolitan Region Palliative Care Consortium, VIC)
Jan Obery (Western Adelaide Palliative Care, SA)
Gretchen Irvine (Palliative Care Australia, ACT)